living simply

life is sweeter when it is simple

A Nursery for Finley

5 Comments

(photo by Denise Rooney Photography)

Even though Finley is still sleeping in her co-sleeper for now, it is nice to know that her nursery is ready for her when that day comes.  We played it old-school and didn’t find out the sex of our baby when I was pregnant.  It was tough at first, but as the pregnancy went on, it was actually a lot of fun to image what in the world was in there!  It also made it more fun to design the nursery.  More fun, but not necessarily easier.

I love gray.  Love.  It is such a classic neutral and it is definitely edgier than beige.  So of course we wanted a neutral nursery, so we went with neutral gray.  For the walls, I chose a gray with a bit of a blue undertone that made it appear more charcoal-like.  The accents would be yellow, white, and hints of black and aqua.  This is neither boy nor girl.  Instead, it is universally fun.  I loved this chevron fabric and decided that this was the perfect fabric to brighten up the dark walls.  I paid just under $40 for 5 and a half yards (hello, steal!).  Our 1900s farmhouse is great, but the 7’6″ ceiling height in the nursery made it a little squat, and the dark walls and small window didn’t help much.  Daniel added the gorgeous tongue and groove ceiling and simple molding to draw the eye up.  This bright yellow chevron fabric is perfect to flank the window and help the room with it’s height and darkness issues. After measuring the length I wanted the curtains to be, I cut and used iron-on fabric tape to hem the ends.  We bought an inexpensive black curtain rod.  We could have gone with white, but I love the contrast that the black color brings to the room.  And I love the texture of the wood ceiling with the pattern of the curtains.

The changing table was a garage sale find.  It was actually in the room before we turned it into a nursery.  Since it is a veneered piece and in rough condition, I didn’t feel bad painting it a high gloss white.  I took out the bottom drawer which was in pretty rough condition and added 3 wood totes I got from Target years ago that I painted yellow.  Once I added a basket for diapers, a changing pad, and a small owl mobile above, it was a pretty inexpensive conversion from worn-out dresser to changing table.

I love the bookcase.  My husband thought I was crazy when I brought this home.  Well, it didn’t look anything like it does now, so I couldn’t blame him.  I found it at Green Oaks up in Rochester, IN.  It was originally a solid, unfinished wood TV stand.  You know, one of those bulky ones we all had before our TVs went on diets and became skinny.  It had a huge hole in the back from where the owner needed more room for the TV to fit.  It was hidden in the store with crap piled up on it and it wasn’t much to look at.  But I saw potential.  And for $30, it came home with me.  After a few coats of white paint and a new back panel piece, it was looking much better.  To give it an extra special touch, I wallpapered the back portion with this allen + roth wallpaper I found at Lowe’s.  It isn’t too flashy, but gives it a nice sophistication to the room, where it could have gone very child-like.  I adjusted the shelves to create some interest, added some inexpensive baskets I found at Old Time Pottery, and it was done.  I am really happy how it turned out and I love that I could move this to any room in the house and it would still work.  Right now it houses Finley’s shoes and books but I’m sure it will be filled in no time.

Baby furniture is crazy expensive.  Not only that, but the choices are awful.  Awful.  Everything is very ornate and clunky and just not cool.  And of course the really amazing stuff is $$$$.  The Eames Rocker was a birthday gift this year from my mom.  It is the most expensive thing in the room.  Furniture design is near and dear to my heart and Charles Eames is one of my favorite architects.  It is going to be in our family for a long time.  I really lucked out with our crib.  It is simple, clean and thank-the-lord affordable.  It is exactly what we were looking for at exactly the right price of $99.

Above the crib is Finley’s one-of-a-kind mobile.  I remember the day I put this together for our Little Peanut.  It is made of different size and color Poms and some Chinese lanterns.  I love the way it turned out.  It moves slightly when there is a breeze and Finley already loves staring up at it.  It really is the statement piece in the room.

All of the accessories just kind of came together.  The dog hooks we picked up from IKEA.  They are so fun and useful.  The art I already blogged about (here).  I did add an “F” since then.  I was waiting to see whether little Peanut was  boy or girl before adding this.  It is made from a cut out “F” and I hot glued wine corks that I cut to differing lengths.  It brings great texture to that wall.  The pouf is from etsy.  I am hoping when I learn to sew, that I can make more of them myself.  They are really perfect for kids.  And the rug I got from Lowes as well.  It was $25 because it is a 5×7 remnant rug.  In the future I would like to change it out for a different one, but right now it serves its purpose.  The little riding horse we got for $3 at a garage sale and the yellow dresser we got for $30 at an auction.

So here is the breakdown:

Paint: 1 can Olympic $12 + 1 can white Olympic $12 + 5 cans spray paint $24.90

Crib: $99

Changing Table: Already owned

Bookcase:  $30 + $20 wallpaper

Yellow Dresser:  $35

Baskets (7): $41.30

Rug: $24.99

Pouf: $56

Pom Mobile: about $48 with all materials

Eames Rocker: gift from Herman Miller

Wall Hooks:  $5.97

Yellow and Blue Toy Totes (3): $7.50

Curtains: $41.80

Curtain Rod: $21.69

Mirror: $3 garage sale

Total: around $260

This was by far the cheapest room we have decorated, but it is our most loved.  :o)

5 thoughts on “A Nursery for Finley

  1. What is the paint color you used on the walls?

    • I’m sorry for the late reply… We used Glidden paint, and it was a custom color match from Behr I believe. Unfortunately I don’t have the specific color I matched, but I do have the combos – B 2 296, C 0 268, D 0 24. I am definately keeping ALL paint swatches from here on out….. 😦

  2. Hi!
    Lovely room you made!
    Could you please show / explane how did you hang the pompoms. I have the same kind of walls-sealing and I would like to use the pompoms like you have but have no idea how to hang them.
    Thank you!

    • I used very small hooks that screw into the ceiling. they look like an upside down question mark. You can find them at any hardware store. I used fishing wire for the string, since it is very strong and clear. The pom poms came with hooks on all of them, so it was just a matter of testing spacing and length. If I put a pom up and decided I didnt like the placement, I just unscrewed the hook and moved it. If I didnt like the length, I just got a new piece of string. Hope this helps!! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

